logo

office (504) 347-5644
fax (504) 335-1000

Louisiana Cash Advance Laws & Regulations

Louisiana residents have a lot of options available to them for their payday loan needs. Before borrowing, make sure to read up on the laws that control payday loans, as listed below.

Here are some specific Louisiana regulations, to protect consumers from predatory lending in the payday loan industry:

  • Maximum Payday Loan Term
    60 days
  • Maximum Finance Charges and Fees
    Documentation fee of $10, $45 dollors or 16.75% of loan check, 36% per annum interest for first 1 to 12 months of default period; finance charge $25 for each $100
  • Maximum Loan Amount
    $350
  • Number of Rollovers
    None
  • Outstanding Loans Allowed at Once
    N/A
  • Cool-Off Period
    N/A
  • Payment Plan
    N/A
  • Collection Fees
    One time NSF fee + $25 or 5% of loan for late charge
  • Private Right of Action
    Civil
  • Military Protection
    N/A
  • Penalties
    Court costs and reasonable attorney fees

References:

Louisiana Statute RS 9:3578:1 et seq.

Louisiana Office of Financial Institutions
P.O. Box  94095
Baton Rouge, LA 70804
Phone: (225) 925-4660
Fax: (225) 925-4548
Web: www.ofi.state.la.us